Days after joining Young America’s Foundation’s (YAF) Campus Free Speech Caucus, Congressman Greg Murphy, M.D. of North Carolina introduced H.R. 4007, the Campus Free Speech Restoration Act.

Dr. Murphy knows campus bias well, as he previously served as Davidson College’s alumni president and as a member of its board of trustees. He shared insight on his experiences through a virtual discussion with YAF just last fall and joined YAF students at an in-person event at the Foundation’s Capitol Hill location on June 17.

Congressman Murphy’s bill would aim to amend the Higher Education Act of 1965 and is noted to be a direct response to the silencing of conservative voices across the nation. The legislation would specifically enforce both public and private universities to report First Amendment violations to the Department of Education.

In a recent press release, Dr. Murphy stated, “Students learn best when they’re taught how to learn, not what to learn.”

“The attacks on Free Speech on College and University campuses are rampant and growing. They need to cease immediately. Unfortunately, in many institutions they teach ‘diversity in all things except opinion’,” stated Rep. Greg Murphy. “The Progressive Left has led the Cancel Culture movement and is forcing students ‘what to think rather than how to think.’ Some college presidents have now seen it as their primary role to be political activists rather than to teach lifelong learning. Enough is enough. It is time we brought balance back.”

Original co-sponsors of the bill include Congressman Jodey Arrington (TX-19), Congressman Brian Babin (TX-36), Congressman Jim Banks (IN-03), Congressman Ted Budd (NC-13), Congresswoman Kat Cammack (FL-03), Congressman Buddy Carter (GA-01), Congressman Scott Franklin (FL-15), Congressman Scott Fitzgerald (WI-05), Congressman Brian Fitzpatrick (PA-01), Congressman Glenn Grothman (WI-06), Congressman Ronny Jackson (TX-13), Congressman Jim Jordan (OH-04), Congressman John Joyce (PA-15), Congresswoman Julia Letlow (LA-05), Congressman Ralph Norman (SC-05), Congressman Tracey Mann (KS-01), Congresswoman Mariannette Miller-Meeks (IA-02), Congressman Burgess Owens (UT-04),  Congresswoman Elise Stefanik (NY-21), Congressman Greg Steube (FL-17), Congresswoman Claudia Tenney (NY-22), and Congressman Tom Tiffany (WI-07).

To urge your representative to join the Campus Free Speech Caucus and sign on to H.R. 4007, contact them here.

In the meantime, if your school is in violation of the First Amendment, you can submit a tip to our Campus Bias Tip Line or contact YAF Spokeswoman Kara Zupkus at or 800-USA-1776.