By: Charlie Jones, Program Officer for YAF Chapter Services

Young Americans for Freedom (YAF) chapters across the country made their return to campuses this past year known by organizing breakthrough activism events and hosting campus lectures featuring Ben Shapiro, Vice President Mike Pence, Sen. Ted Cruz, Michael Knowles, Kellyanne Conway, and numerous other top conservative speakers. In turn, they brought conservative ideas that––had their schools had their way––their fellow students would never have been exposed to.

To highlight the top chapters that went above and beyond this past year, the Young Americans for Freedom Board of Governors has named the following chapters as nominees for Chapter of the Year. All these chapters participated in YAF’s trademark activism projects, including the 9/11: Never Forget Project, No More Che Day. Freedom Week, and the Pro-Life Timeline Initiative. The nominees also hosted large speaking events on their campus, which are listed under each chapter below:

The Catholic University of America (CUA YAF)

CUA YAF hosted the “Verdict with Ted Cruz” tour and Kellyanne Conway, reaching over 125,000 people online and in-person.

Iowa State University (ISU YAF)

ISU YAF Hosted Ben Shapiro in front of a crowd of 2,700 people and millions online.

Texas A&M University (TAMU YAF)

TAMU YAF Hosted Vice President Mike Pence in front of a crowd of over 1,500 people, “Verdict with Ted Cruz,” Matt Walsh, and Zuby reaching over 450,000 people online combined.

University of Iowa (Iowa YAF)

Iowa YAF Hosted Vice President Mike Pence and Kellyanne Conway, reaching over 650 on campus and 140,000 online.

University of Michigan (UMich YAF)

UMich YAF Hosted Larry Elder and Liz Wheeler, reaching 54,000 online and hundreds on campus.

University of Virginia (UVA YAF)

UVA Hosted Vice President Mike Pence and an event with Chip Roy and Rich Lowry defending Thomas Jefferson, both to packed halls and reached a combined 113,000 online.

Pence with YAF members at UVA

The winning chapter will be announced during the National Conservative Student Conference at the end of the month in Washington DC and will receive a $10,000 grant for campus activism.

Congratulations to the nominated chapters!